New congressional leaders selected

December 18, 2018

House Democrats elected current Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi (D-CA) to be Speaker of the House, although the full House of Representatives must vote on the new Speaker in early January. The caucus also elected Rep. Steny Hoyer (D-MD) to be Majority Leader and Rep. Jim Clyburn (D-SC) to be Majority Whip. Reps. Pelosi, Hoyer and Clyburn all served in the same roles when Democrats last held the majority from 2007-2011.

House Republicans elected Rep. Kevin McCarthy (R-CA) to be Minority Leader and Rep. Steve Scalise (R-LA) to be Minority Whip.

In the Senate, both Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY) and Minority Leader Chuck Schumer (D-NY) were re-elected to their posts.

Categorized in: Advocacy News